Can you get a job doing Eclipse RCP?

What is the job market like for Eclipse RCP developers? I’d say it’s pretty good. In my experience, people with RCP experience can demand their terms and sometimes even work remotely. There still isn’t a huge pool of developers with this expertise and demand seems to be increasing. If you’re looking for proof, check out this graph of historical Eclipse RCP job postings.


eclipse rcp Job Trends graph

eclipse rcp Job Trends eclipse rcp jobs

The overall numbers are still small compared to standard J2EE/web development, but things are definitely moving in the right direction. It looks like 2008 is going to be a good year for RCP developers!

4 Responses to Can you get a job doing Eclipse RCP?

  1. Nice post, Patrick. I really wish I shared your optimism but from my experience the market for RCP skills is still small and barely growing. But perhaps this is a problem with regional variations? If you know of any firms who would be happy to hire an RCP developer in London for remote work, please do let me know 😉

  2. Martin says:

    Hi,

    looking at RCP development from Germany, I can say, it looks pretty good.. still the market has to grow, but if you really know the framework, you can easily find a job.. especially if there´s knowledge in RCP and JEE… so, keep on doing RCP;-)

  3. Patrick says:

    Hi Neil,

    Sorry to hear the market is tight in London. I know of some work going on in Scotland and I’ll inquire about remote-work possibilities.

    It seems like some areas have a lot of RCP work and others have none. In the US, there is a lot happening on the east coast (financial, government sectors) and not so much in the midwest (where I live).

    I do think RCP has a long way to go before it gains broader acceptance, but it has some amazing things going for it – the most important being that it is really the only modular UI that I know of. I’m hoping that cleaning up and clarifying the APIs in Eclipse 4.0 will help. Of course, I should really get off my but and help, and I’ll probably start doing that soon.

    — Patrick

  4. […] work! Unfortunately the news isn’t good for Eclipse RCP. It’s interesting that while Eclipse RCP job postings are trending up, the search statistics are telling a different story. The stats for RCP look even worse when you […]

Leave a Reply

